Skip to main content

The African Union Citizens & Diaspora Directorate - CIDO

The Citizens and Diaspora Directorate (CIDO) is responsible for implementing the AU's engagement with non-state actors through the involvement of the diaspora and civil society. The Directorate is designed to serve as a catalyst to facilitate the involvement of African peoples in Africa and around the world in the affairs of the AU. CIDO has two divisions, the Civil Society Division and the Diaspora Division. It also has a unit that serves as the Secretariat of the Economic, Social and Cultural Council (ECOSOCC). The Council, which is composed of civil society organisations (CSOs) and non-state organs, was established in 2004 as an advisory organ to the AU .